✖ close

☰ In This Section

We're a team of writers, designers, and strategists, who love talking about Bethel. So we take the stories of our students, faculty, staff, alumni, donors, and friends, and communicate them to the outside world in a variety of ways. Whether it’s writing news stories for the website, creating Bethel Magazine, or emailing our alumni, we strive to communicate about Bethel in a style that informs, engages, and inspires. With insight and creativity, we get out the news about Bethel.

We live and breathe fonts, colors, and images, so when it comes to promoting Bethel in print or on the web, we love that we get to capture its essence, communicate its message, and maintain the integrity of the Bethel brand in a creative, compelling, and consistent manner. We wake up each day excited to engage our audiences, serve the Bethel community, and move Bethel’s web presence forward. 

Get to know who we are and how we can support your communication and marketing needs.

Carmen Shields

Chief Marketing Officer

c-shields@bethel.edu

Visionary. Collaborative. Adventurous.
Areas of Expertise: Strategic leadership, branding, marketing, communications, research, project management, team building.

Christine Erntson

Marketing and Communications Coordinator

c-erntson@bethel.edu

Fearless. Clever. Chicago sports fan.
Areas of Expertise: Budgeting, office management, department efficiency and productivity, student leadership, internal and crisis communication.

Suzanne McInroy

Director of Communications

s-mcinroy@bethel.edu

Smart. Articulate. Well-traveled.
Areas of Expertise: Media relations, news, internal communications, crisis communications.

Michael Vedders

Director of Marketing

vedmic@bethel.edu

Motivational. Generous. Adventurer.
Areas of Expertise: Strategic planning, marketing media, digital reporting, web ninjaing, project prioritization, client relations and mediations.

Tim Hammer

Associate Marketing Director

timothy-hammer@bethel.edu

Strategic. Loyal. Netflix addict.
Areas of Expertise: Project management and strategic planning.

Whitney Bak

Content Specialist

w-bak@bethel.edu

Inquisitive. Astute. Caffeinated. 
Areas of Expertise: Editing, news and feature writing, email marketing campaigns.

Kristi Ellison

Graphic Designer

kristi-ellison@bethel.edu

Problem-solver. Planner. Emphathizer.
Areas of expertise: Moodboards, typography, design versatility, branding, iconography.

David Freed

Web Content Manager

d-freed@bethel.edu

Visionary. Strategic. Fun.

Expertise: Web strategy, admissions marketing, content organization, web author training.

Paul Hjellming

Videographer | Photographer

paul-hjellming@bethel.edu

Artistic. Critical. Film snob.

Areas of Expertise: F- and T-stops, camera angles, frame rates, storytelling, film editing.

Jenny Hudalla

Content Specialist

j-hudalla@bethel.edu

Perceptive. Bold. Horizon chaser. 

Areas of Expertise: Storytelling, news and feature writing, interpersonal communication.

Jacob Johnson

Web Designer

jb-johnson@bethel.edu

Equanimous. Judicious. Purveyor of GIFs.

Areas of expertise: Front-end design and development.

Darin Jones

Senior Graphic Designer

d-jones@bethel.edu

Thoughtful. Clever. Triathlete. 
Areas of Expertise: Bethel Magazine, marketing, branding.

Monique Kleinhuizen

New Media Strategist

m-kleinhuizen@bethel.edu

Interested. Bubbly. Tree farmer.
Areas of expertise: Editing, writing, storytelling, social media. 

Chris LaRue

Project Manager

c-larue@bethel.edu

Creative. Encourager. Side-of-the-Road-Find Artist.
Areas of Expertise: Project management, design, photography, production.

Andrea Parrott

Inbound Marketing Content Specialist

a-parrot@bethel.edu 

Creative. Curious. Bicyclist.
Areas of expertise: Web content, inbound, emails.

Tom Vukelich

Senior Graphic Designer

t-vukelich@bethel.edu

Productive. Orderly. Theatrical. 
Areas of Expertise: Brochures, postcards, invitations, newsletters, programs.

Michelle Westlund

Senior Content Specialist

m-westlund@bethel.edu

Organized. Spunky. Sports fanatic.
Areas of Expertise: Bethel Magazine, editing, writing, proofreading, grammar/style.

Open a Job

Great work starts with great input! Get started by opening a job with us.

Open a Job