☰ In This Section

Options for which teaching license is right for you are based on requirements such as your undergraduate coursework, as well as additional coursework you have may taken at either the undergraduate or graduate level.

Bethel's current licensing options, and their grade levels, include:

  • Business (5–12)
  • Communication Arts and Literature (5–12)
  • General Science (5–8)
  • Chemistry (9–12)
  • Life Science (9–12)
  • Physics (9–12)
  • Math (5–12)
  • Social Studies (5–12)
  • English as a Second Language (ESL) K-12
  • Visual Arts (K–12)
  • World Languages and Cultures - Spanish (K–12)

The program's curriculum also teaches you how to successfully work with diverse populations of students such as English Learners (ELs), students with special needs, and students who are gifted and talented.

Minnesota Teacher License Exam (MTLE)

To qualify for teacher licensure, all Minnesota teacher candidates must demonstrate competencies by passing basic skills exams in reading, writing, and mathematics, along with exams over pedagogy and content areas. Results are reported to the Minnesota Board of Teaching and the United States Secretary of Education. According to MTLE scores (2012-2013), among Bethel M.A. in Teaching students:

  • 94% passed the basic skills exam
  • 95% passed the content exam
  • 100% passed the pedagogy exam

Of those who completed the program, 82% were eligible for an initial teaching license in 2012-2013.

Bethel students can choose to take the ACT plus writing instead of taking the MTLE basic skills exam. In addition, students may also choose to take the SAT instead of the MTLE basic skills exam. A passing score on the ACT plus writing is a composite score of 22 or higher, and a passing score on the SAT exam is 510 in Reading, 510 in Writing and 520 in Math.

How are licenses awarded?

Bethel recommends students for licensure, which is awarded by the Minnesota Department of Education after completing all requirements, including:

  • Passing score on all required Minnesota Teaching Licensure Examinations (MTLE) or equivalent examinations
  • Satisfactory completion of student teaching in each licensure area
  • Satisfactory completion of required coursework
  • Application for licensure
  • Teacher Performance Assessment (edTPA) for first-time licenses