☰ In This Section

Edwin J. Omark Preaching Awards

Since 1968, Bethel Seminary has been recognizing outstanding communicators within the Bethel Seminary student body through the Omark Preaching Awards. This year marks the 53nd anniversary of the preaching competition in honor of former seminary professor Edwin J. Omark, and will again award 3 students who demonstrate excellence in preaching.

Sermon Theme

The Work of the Holy Spirit in the World

Awards and Benefits

First Award: $1000 - Edwin J. Omark Preaching Award and the opportunity to preach at the undergraduate chapel service on Friday, April 3 in St. Paul. Note: If you are not in driving distance to St. Paul to preach in chapel, we will cover your expenses (flight, hotel, gas, etc.).

Second Award: $800 - Robert A. Featherstone Memorial Scholarship

Third Award: $600 - Emily A. VanAntwerp Memorial Preaching Scholarship

Benefits to All Participants

Sermon preparation support, constructive feedback on submitted sermons, and a video recorded sermon you can use in your search for ministry placement.


All Bethel Seminary students (online or face-to-face) currently enrolled in a Master’s level program are eligible to enter.

Questions? Contact Jenny Vang at or call 651.638.6659.