☰ In This Section

The University Professor award is the highest honor that a faculty member can receive at Bethel University. This highly selective award recognizes a faculty member for sustained excellence in scholarship, teaching, research, or creative activity in his or her discipline. Faculty who are selected as a University Professor have provided outstanding service to Bethel University, to their profession, and to the public. Appointment to a university professorship recognizes the individual’s role as an intellectual leader and change agent, resulting in a significant impact on his or her academic discipline.

This honor is given every other year to a faculty member who has served a minimum of ten years at Bethel University, holds the rank of Professor, and is widely recognized for extraordinary accomplishments on and beyond campus.

Current Honoree

Professor Kenneth Steinbach from the Department of Art and Design, College of Arts & Sciences has been selected as Bethel University’s seventh University Professor.

Read the full announcement

Professor of Art Honored with Seventh University Professor Title

University Professor of Art Kenneth Steinbach

Past Honorees

Dr. Gretchen Wrobel
University Professor of Psychology (College of Arts & Sciences, 2016)

Meet Gretchen Wrobel, University Professor of Psychology and Univesity Professor of Psychology, at Bethel University.

Dr. Mark Strauss
University Professor of New Testament (Seminary, 2014)


Mark Strauss

Dr. Wayne Roosa
University Professor of Art (College of Arts & Sciences, 2012)


daWayne Roosa

Dr. Marjorie Schaffer
University Professor of Nursing (College of Arts & Sciences, 2010)


Marjorie Schaffer

Dr. Michael Holmes
University Professor of Biblical Studies and Early Christianity (College of Arts & Sciences, 2008)

Michael Holmes
Dr. Richard Peterson
University Professor of Physics (College of Arts & Sciences, 2006)
Dick Peterson