✖ close


☰ In This Section

Master of Divinity Faculty

Our professors are distinguished scholars, active researchers, published writers, and faithful Christians who demonstrate what it means to be both Christ-followers and leaders in their academic fields. As mentors and role models, they play a huge role in the integration of faith and learning at Bethel.

Jeannine Brown

Professor of New Testament | j-brown@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2000

Research Interests

Dr. Brown has focused much of her research and writing on the Gospels and on hermeneutics. In addition to a book on biblical hermeneutics, she has published two commentaries on Matthew's Gospel and is currently co-writing a third. Brown has also co-written on interdisciplinary topics, such as Christian formation and interdisciplinary integration.

Paul Ferris

Professor, Hebrew Bible | pferris@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1998

Teaching specialty

Content and exegesis of the First Testament and biblical languages

Daniel M. Gurtner

Professor of New Testament | dgurtner@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2005

Areas of expertise

New Testament

David Howard

Professor of Old Testament | dhoward@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1982-1990, 2000-present.

Justin Irving

Professor of Ministry Leadership | j-irving@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2000

Research Interests

Leadership Studies; Servant Leadership; Team Effectiveness; Cross-Cultural Leadership; Organizational Change; Ministry Leadership; Purpose in Leadership; Leadership Assessment; Research Methodology and Design; Spiritual and Personal Formation for Leaders

Andrew Rowell

Instructor of Ministry Leadership | a-rowell@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2013

Research Interests

Karl Barth, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Lesslie Newbigin, Eugene Peterson, church planting, church consulting, megachurches, trends in theological education, business management, the quantitative study of congregations in sociology, models of practical theology, the history of pastoral ministry, pastoral ministry in literature.

Glen Scorgie

Professor of Theology | g-scorgie@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1996

Areas of expertise

Systematic theology, historical theology, spiritual theology and ethics.

Mark Strauss

University Professor of New Testament | m-strauss@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1993

Areas of expertise

New Testament, Greek, Bible Translation, and Hermeneutics

Become a Bethel Student