✖ close

Seminary

☰ In This Section

Our professors are distinguished scholars, active researchers, published writers, and faithful Christians who demonstrate what it means to be both Christ-followers and leaders in their academic fields. As mentors and role models, they play a huge role in the integration of faith and learning at Bethel.

Faculty

Jeannine Brown

Professor of New Testament | j-brown@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2000

Dr. Brown has focused much of her research and writing on the Gospels and on hermeneutics. In addition to a book on biblical hermeneutics, she has published two commentaries on Matthew's Gospel and is currently co-writing a third. Brown has also co-written on interdisciplinary topics, such as Christian formation and interdisciplinary integration.

Howard Cassidy-Moffatt

Adjunct Faculty | hoc45784@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2011

The Theology and Practice of Christian Ministry.

Norah Caudill

Faculty Associate of Old Testament | n-caudill@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2008

Hebrew, Hebrew Exegesis, Old Testament

Dennis R. Edwards

Adjunct Faculty | dedwards@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2006

Paul Ferris

Professor | pferris@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1998

Content and exegesis of the First Testament and biblical languages

Daniel M. Gurtner

Adjunct Faculty | dgurtner@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2005

New Testament

Tim Henderson

Adjunct Instructor of Biblical Studies | timothy-henderson@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2006

New Testament and early Christianity

David Howard

Professor | dhoward@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1982-1990, 2000-present.

Old Testament, Hebrew, and Hermeneutics

Peter Kapsner

Teaching Partner in Theological Studies | kappet@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2002

New Testament. Church history and engagement with culture. Leadership in ministry. Human sexuality. Spiritual formation.

Shane Long

Adjunct Instructor | shane-long@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2008

Family systems, differentiation of self, narrative and constructivist approaches in therapy, socio-economic and cultural issues in therapy, and integration of religion and spirituality in the field of psychotherapy.

Lyn Nixon

Adjunct Faculty | nixlyn@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2009

Greek, Hermeneutics, New Testament, Biblical Theology, The Use of the OT in the NT

Andrew Rowell

Instructor | a-rowell@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2013

Karl Barth, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Lesslie Newbigin, Eugene Peterson, church planting, church consulting, megachurches, trends in theological education, business management, the quantitative study of congregations in sociology, models of practical theology, the history of pastoral ministry, pastoral ministry in literature.

Andrew Russell

Adjunct Assistant Professor of General Studies | andrew-russell@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2013

The Keswick Movement, Religious Practices, the Modern Missionary Movement, the East African Revival, the Christian and Missionary Alliance, John Wesley, Jonathan Edwards

Glen Scorgie

Professor of Theology | g-scorgie@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1996

Systematic theology, historical theology, spiritual theology and ethics.

Mark Strauss

University Professor of New Testament | m-strauss@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1993

New Testament, Greek, Bible Translation, and Hermeneutics

Become a Bethel Student