✖ close


☰ In This Section

Our professors are distinguished scholars, active researchers, published writers, and faithful Christians who demonstrate what it means to be both Christ-followers and leaders in their academic fields. As mentors and role models, they play a huge role in the integration of faith and learning at Bethel.

Alex Eaton

Instructor in Chemistry | a-eaton@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2015

Rollin King

Professor and Chair of Chemistry | rking@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2001

Research Interests

Computational Quantum Chemistry and Electronic Structure.

Trey Maddox

Associate Professor of Chemistry | m-maddox@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2008

Ashley Mahoney

Associate Department Chair, Professor of Chemistry | amahoney@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2001

Research Interests

Mahoney's research is in chemical education, both curriculum development and scholarship of teaching and learning projects. Mahoney is active with the POGIL (process-oriented guided inquiry learning) Project and has co-authored a collection of POGIL activities for the GOB (allied health) classroom available through Wiley. She has also assembled a national consortium of faculty to write inquiry laboratories for introductory courses. Her research projects focus on incorporating various learning styles in the classroom and providing engaging classroom experiences for underprepared students.

Matthew Neibergall

Assistant Professor of Chemistry | m-neibergall@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2007

Wade Neiwert

Professor of Chemistry, Pre-Medical Advisor | w-neiwert@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2004

Research Interests

Neiwert's research focuses on the study of a unique class of inorganic cluster-like compounds known as polyoxometalates (POMs for short). His recent efforts have focused on using POMs as nanoscale building blocks, where they are connected by organic ligands, resulting in inorganic-organic hybrid materials. Multiple spectroscopic techniques are used to characterize POMs and their resulting polymeric materials, including multi-nuclear NMR (1H, 13C, 31P, 29Si, etc), FT-IR, UV-Vis, and single crystal X-ray diffraction.

Ken Rohly

Professor of Chemistry | rohly@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1987

Angela Stoeckman

Associate Professor of Chemistry | a-stoeckman@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2015

Brandon Winters

Assistant Professor of Chemistry | b-winters@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2011

Become a Bethel Student