✖ close


☰ In This Section

Our professors are distinguished scholars, active researchers, published writers, and faithful Christians who demonstrate what it means to be both Christ-followers and leaders in their academic fields. As mentors and role models, they play a huge role in the integration of faith and learning at Bethel.

Department Chair

Jonathan Veenker

Department Chair and Associate Professor of Music | j-veenker@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1988

Areas of expertise

Veenker teaches composition, music theory, and orchestration courses. He is a frequently commissioned composer and arranger writing primarily for choir, wind ensemble, orchestra, and solo voice.


Kimberly Allmann

Private Lesson Instructor in French Horn | k-allmann@bethel.edu

Trudi Anderson

Private Lesson Instructor in Flute | tja59526@bethel.edu

Jeffrey Brueske

Private Lesson Instructor in Jazz Bass | j-brueske@bethel.edu

David Crittenden

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music and Private Lesson Instructor in Guitar | d-crittenden@bethel.edu

Areas of expertise

Crittenden is a classical guitarist and composer. He has published work through Amoriello Guitar Publications and Alfred Music Publishing and was a member of the Minneapolis Guitar Quartet for ten years.

Gary Crowe

Private Lesson Instructor in Saxophone | gwc57224@bethel.edu

Emily Hagen

Private Lesson Instructor in Viola | emh86475@bethel.edu

Angela Hanson

Private Lesson Instructor in Violin | adh68496@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2008

Areas of expertise

Hanson teaches violin lessons, coaches chamber ensembles, and teaches the violin/viola portion of string methods. She performs frequently around the Twin Cities and is in the Minnesota Opera Orchestra, the Minnesota Sinfonia, and is concertmaster of the Dakota Valley Symphony. In addition to te. . . read more.

Jason Harms

Conductor of the Jazz Orchestra | j-harms@bethel.edu

Joshua John

Private Lesson Instructor in Bassoon | jmj48245@bethel.edu

Areas of expertise

John is a private lesson instructor in bassoon. He is also Principal Bassoon in the Mankato Symphony Orchestra.

Herbert Johnson

Professor of Music | herbert-johnson@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2008

Areas of expertise

Johnson teaches piano, piano theory, and piano pedagogy. He is an active solo and collaborative pianist in the Twin Cities and participates in numerous musical activities in the metropolitan area including chamber music recitals, worship services, and sacred concerts.

Mark Kausch

Private Lesson Instructor in Double Bass | mkausch@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1991

Areas of expertise

Kausch teaches private double bass lessons with research interest in historically-informed performance.

Julie Madura

Private Lesson Instructor in Oboe | jkm35387@bethel.edu

Zachary Miller

Private Lesson Instructor in Jazz Percussion

Cheryl Oie

Adjunct Instructor in Voice and Coordinator of Music Organizations | coie@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2003

Tina Park

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music and Private Lesson Instructor in Piano | l-juan@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2006

Nancy Parker

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Music | n-parker@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2007

Gene D. Peterson

Associate Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities | gene-peterson@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2015

John Povolny

Private Lesson Instructor in Percussion | jgp72794@bethel.edu

Cindy Reents

Office Coordinator | c-reents@bethel.edu

Mark Rhoads

Professor of Music | rhomar@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1988

Areas of expertise

Rhoads teaches courses in church music, music education, and gen. ed. arts courses. He is a member of the Hymn Society of the United States and Canada and is active in discussions on music and worship, with current research in American hymnody, especially the reform movement in the American Pro. . . read more.

Stephen Self

Professor of Music | selste@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1999

Areas of expertise

Self teaches organ, piano, and music history. He also serves in the West­ern Humanity program. He is active as a solo and collaborative pianist throughout the Twin Cities. Self is an active member of the American Guild of Organists. He is a Fellow of the Guild, the highest certification level . . . read more.

Carrie Shaw

Private Lesson Instructor in Voice | cls65472@bethel.edu

Kevin Shull

Manager of Music Organizations and Director of the Handbell Ensemble | kevin-shull@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1997

Areas of expertise

Shull oversees the management of all activity of the music department’s performance ensembles including the planning, organization, and promotion of all music tours, performances on campus, as well as the production of Bethel’s annual Festival of Christmas. He conducts the Bethel Handbell E. . . read more.

Pam Sohriakoff

Staff Accompanist | psohriak@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2007

Areas of expertise

Accompanying, vocal coach, private piano lessons

Steven Thompson

Professor of Music and Director of Instrumental Activities | s-thompson@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2002

Areas of expertise

Thompson teaches courses in instrumental conducting, instrumental pedagogies, private trumpet instruction, and conducts the Bethel Wind Symphony. Thompson maintains an active performing schedule as a trumpeter in the Upper Midwest and the Eastern United States. He is sought after as a clinician. . . read more.

Emily Urban

Staff Accompanist | e-urban@bethel.edu

Marshall Urban

Private Lesson Instructor in Voice | m-urban@bethel.edu

Catherine Victorsen

Private Lesson Instructor in Harp | csv65746@bethel.edu

Hong Wang

Private Lesson Instructor in Cello | h-wang@bethel.edu

Richard Wyland

Private Lesson Instructor in Clarinet | r-wyland@bethel.edu

Larry Zimmerman

Private Lesson Instructor in Low Brass | larry-zimmerman@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2000

Areas of expertise

Zimmerman is a professional musician with Grammy award-winning Chestnut Brass Company and principal trombonist in the Duluth-Superior Symphony and the Minneapolis Pop Orchestra. He also actively performs using period brass instruments including Renaissance sackbuts and 19th century saxhorns.

Music Features

Concerts & Performing Arts Events

View the schedule of upcoming performing and visual arts events at Bethel.

Bethel Music Recordings

Visit the online store to purchase recordings of Bethel University Festival of Christmas, Bethel Choir, Wind Symphony, and Jazz Orchestra.

Become a Bethel Student