✖ close

Undergrad

☰ In This Section

Our professors are distinguished scholars, active researchers, published writers, and faithful Christians who demonstrate what it means to be both Christ-followers and leaders in their academic fields. As mentors and role models, they play a huge role in the integration of faith and learning at Bethel.

Department Chair

Brian Hyatt

Department Chair and Professor of Biological Sciences | b-hyatt@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2003

Hyatt’s research interests include developmental genetics of early lung development.

Faculty

Bryan Anderson

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences | andbry@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1991

Anderson’s research interests include water remediation, fossil excavation, forest and management.

Melissa Cordes

Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences | m-cordes@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2015

Dr. Cordes is interested in the neural integration of social cues and communication in European starlings as well as the possible rewarding properties of androgens.

Teresa DeGolier

Professor of Biological Sciences | t-degolier@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1994

DeGolier’s research interests include smooth muscle physiology and pharmacology in vitro, peptide regulation of gastrointestinal, uterine, and vascular smooth muscle motility, and the use of herbs in alternative medicine.

Joyce Doan

Professor of Biological Sciences | j-doan@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2004

Dr. Doan’s main research interests are in the area of macrophage activation. Macrophages are multifunctional leukocytes that constitute a major first line of defense against infection. Resting macrophages are phagocytic, but macrophages activated by both intrinsic and extrinsic stimuli acquire a broad range of functions ranging from the release of reactive oxygen and nitrogen species, cytokine secretion, upregulated phagocytosis, and the ability to participate in the activation of adapt. . . read more.

Amy Dykstra

Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences | abd24256@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2011

Dr. Dykstra’s research interests include the ecology and population genetics of native plants in fragmented prairie habitat.

Brent Hoernemann

Laboratory and Safety Coordinator | brent-hoernemann@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1999

Hoernemann supervises teaching assistants, oversees greenhouse and animal facilities, maintains equipment, and supplies materials for the department.

Gregg Johnson

Professor of Biological Sciences Emeritus | g-johnson@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1975

Johnson’s research interests include genetic toxicology, sister chromatid exchange, and behavioral responses in animals to hormonal and chemical stimuli.

Ian Johnston

Professor of Biological Sciences | i-johnston@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1988

Johnston’s research interests include microbial landscapes on the surfaces of reef-coral tissues in relation to coral disease, stewardship of coral reefs, and interactions between science and Christian faith.

William McVaugh

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences | w-mcvaugh@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2012

Neuroscience, Neurophysiology, Electrophysiology, Neuropharmacology Human/Clinical Anatomy, Physiology, Pathophysiology

Patricia Paulson

Professor of Science Education | patricia-paulson@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1999

Paulson focuses her research on trustworthy practices for learning science, focusing specifically on scientific practices. She has led the GEMS program, coordinates the STEM certification program, teaches Life Science Concepts, Applied STEM Practices, and Science Curriculum and Methods at all levels. Paulson also teaches in the Ed.D. program.

Kenneth Petersen

Professor of Biological Sciences | k-petersen@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2003

Petersen’s research interests include responses of wildlife populations and communities to habitat alterations.

Jeffrey Port

Professor of Biological Sciences | jport@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2001

Recent research topics include the use of restored prairies by grassland songbirds, small mammals and insects, and reproductive biology and natural history of Ecuadorian cloudforest songbirds. Dr. Port also is a federally licensed master bird bander and operates a MAPS (www.birdpop.org/pages/maps.php) station in cooperation with Anoka County in the Rum River Central Park during the summer months.

Timothy Shaw

Professor of Biological Sciences and Pre-medicine Advisor | t-shaw@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 1981

Shaw’s research interests include development of chick nervous system, the brain and feeding behavior, relationships between the structure of the brain and behavior, progress in new clinical treatment options, and the biology of morality.

Paula Soneral

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences | p-soneral@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2008

Soneral’s research interests include cell motility and the cytoskeleton and regulation of motor proteins in cilia/flagellar assembly.

Jeanne Szarzynski

Assistant Professor | j-szarzynski@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2015

Physician Assistant

Jonathan Van Berkom

Professor of Biological Sciences | j-van-berkom@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2008

Sara Wyse

Associate Professor of Biological Sciences | s-wyse@bethel.edu | Started at Bethel: 2010

Become a Bethel Student