☰ In This Section

Arts and Humanities Scholarships

Bethel University offers the Arts and Humanities Scholarship to incoming students. Through this program, one full-tuition and several $10,000 per year scholarships are awarded to deserving students planning to pursue majors in these academic areas, including history, philosophy, and political science.

Departmental Scholarships

Thanks to the generosity of Bethel alumni and other donors, our department is also able to offer several annual scholarships ($500-$1,500 each) to students majoring in history, political science, and social studies education 5-12. Find the full list of departmental scholarships here.

Edgren Scholars Program

Named for Bethel’s founder, John Alexis Edgren, this program encourages student-faculty research collaboration during the summer break. Student partners receive a $3,000 stipend. Previous Edgren Scholars from our department include Fletcher Warren '15 and Professor of History Chris Gehrz (researching and writing a digital history of Bethel during times of war) and Zach Haala '22 and Associate Professor of History Charlie Goldberg (applying artificial intelligence and machine learning to historical research in the Bethel Digital Library).